CLOSE

Maddie Poppe talks about life on tour. Kelsey Kremer, kkremer@dmreg.com

LINKEDINCOMMENTMORE

This is not a drill: Iowan and Season 16 American Idol winner Maddie Poppe is heading on tour. Poppe, 21, will be a special guest on singer-songwriter Ingrid Michaelson’s The Dramatic Tour.

Michaelson made the announcement Wednesday night on her official Twitter account. 

“Bringing this sweetheart @maddiepoppe on tour as my special guest on The Dramatic Tour OCT 3-OCT 29! “ Michaelson wrote. “There is going to be a lot of harmonizing and fan girling all October long.” 

“Bring cookies and scented candles thanks,” she added.

Poppe responded to Michaelson’s tour alert writing, “So beyond excited for this!!” 

Michaelson will be performing records from her ninth studio album, “Stranger Things,” released June 28 on Cabin 24 Records. The project is inspired by Netflix’s “Stranger Things” series. It premiered before the show’s third season. Poppe, who was born and raised in Clarksville, Iowa, released her LP, "Whirlwind," on May 17.

Michaelson and Poppe will be on the road together from Oct. 3-29 in the U.S.  

Check out tour dates below. 

Thursday, Oct. 3: San Diego, California — The Observatory North Park

Friday, Oct. 4: Los Angeles, California — The Wiltern 

Wednesday, Oct. 9: San Francisco, California — The Fillmore

Friday, Oct. 11: Portland, Oregon — Roseland Theater 

Saturday, Oct. 12: Seattle, Washington — The Showbox

Monday, Oct. 14: Salt Lake City, Utah — The Union Event Center

Wednesday, Oct. 16: Denver, Colorado — Ogden Theatre 

Friday, Oct. 18: Minneapolis, Minnesota — Orpheum Theatre 

Saturday, Oct. 19: Chicago, Illinois — The Vic Theatre 

Tuesday, Oct. 22: Boston, Massachusetts — House of Blues Boston 

Wednesday, Oct. 23: Washington, District of Columbia — Lincoln Theatre 

Friday, Oct. 25: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania — Union Transfer

Monday, Oct. 28: New York, New York — Webster Hall

Tuesday, Oct. 29: New York, New York —Webster Hall 

So far, no dates for Iowa, but fans are still excited about the two touring together. 

More: Maddie Poppe: 'Best revenge is to be successful,' she says of 'American Idol' at Iowa State Fair

More: Iowa ‘Idol’ winner Maddie Poppe releases soulful new single, details debut album

More: 'American Idol' winner Maddie Poppe leads free attractions at 2019 Iowa State Fair​​​​​​​

LINKEDINCOMMENTMORE
Read or Share this story: https://www.desmoinesregister.com/story/entertainment/music/2019/08/29/american-idol-maddie-poppe-ingrid-michaelson-the-dramatic-tour-indie-pop-folk-music-tickets/2152767001/